Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Main site Library home page Library home page

DBS Library Annual Seminar 2018: Biographies

Biographies

Ellen Breen
Ellen has worked in academic libraries for over 20 years.  She is currently a member of the CONUL (Consortium of National and University Libraries) Training and Development Committee.  She chaired the CONUL Advisory Committee on Information Literacy from 2002-2012. She was Programme Co-ordinator for the inaugural CONUL Conference in 2015 and co-chair of the CONUL Conference Committee in 2017. 

Niamh Brennan
Niamh Brennan is Programme Manager Research Informatics in Trinity College Library Dublin where she works on research reporting, evaluation and impact. She is responsible for the development of Trinity's Research Support System and its institutional repository, TARA (Trinity's Access to Research Archive). Niamh is a member of several national and international groups working on open access to research outputs and enabling their improved reporting, retrieval and evaluation. These include Ireland's National Open Science Forum (which represents all Irish funding councils and research agencies and institutions), DART-Europe (Digital Access to Research Theses Europe), OpenAIRE2020 (Horizon2020) and OpenAIRE Advance (Horizon2020). She is a member of the management councils of two key Irish journals in economics and social sciences and has partnered in a number of research projects in digital humanities, international development and social sciences. Niamh coordinated a national sectoral project in Ireland, funded by the HEA and managed by the IUA, which developed research reporting standards and research evaluation methodologies with a particular focus on developing new ways of demonstrating research impact. She has acted as a consultant on bibliometrics for HEA/Forfas (2011) and HEA (2106-2017). She was a member of the European Commission Expert Group on Skills for Open Science, reporting to the European Open Science Policy Platform (expert group report published: September 2017).

Mary Buckley
Mary Buckley is the Head Librarian of the National College of Ireland, and has over 30 years experience of working in academic libraries.  Mary is responsible for the strategic direction of the library with specific responsibility for students studying online.  Mary has developed the Library’s Online Resources with access @ NCI Library to over 40 online databases/resources; upgraded the LMS [Library Management System] & greatly improved access to eBooks/fulltext materials online. Mary is also the co-author of the NCI's referencing guide, 1st [email protected]: bibliographies & referencing made easy! – APA & Harvard referencing styles, the 5th edition will be published in July 2018.

Ann Cleary

Ann Cleary is Librarian at Dundalk Institute of Technology.  She has an M Lis from UCD and an MSc in Personal and Organisational Development from the University of Sussex.  A native of Galway Ann lives in Dundalk Co Louth. In her other life she teaches a meditation practice called Movement Medicine.


John Cox

John Cox is University Librarian at National University of Ireland Galway and has also worked at University College Cork, the Wellcome Trust, Royal Free Hospital and Aston University. He has a particular interest in digital libraries, both through initiatives such as the digitization of the Abbey and Gate Theatre archives at NUI Galway and writings on library roles in digital scholarship. These include publications on communicating new library roles to enable digital scholarship and developments in library staffing for research, incorporating a case study at NUI Galway Library. He is currently writing a literature review on positioning the academic library in the institution for an upcoming issue of the New Review of Academic Librarianship on that theme. @johncoxnuig 
 
Brid Delahunt
Brid Delahunt is a lecturer in the School of Health and Science, Dundalk Institute of Technology. A lecturer since 2002, Brid has increasingly become interested in the development of academic literacy and writing skills into undergraduate students and has published a number of articles on the subject.
 
Niamh Hammel
Niamh Hammel is currently a Library Assistant in Dundalk Institute of Technology where she is involved in delivering Information Literacy classes and undertaking the Certificate in Teaching and Learning course provided by DkIT. Niamh has a Joint Honours Degree in English and Media Studies, and in 2016, graduated the Information and Communication Studies Masters from UCD with a first class honours. Previous experience includes working as an Archives Assistant in RTE and volunteering as a cataloguer in the Irish Agricultural Museum, Wexford.
 
David is the Systems Librarian in DBS Library and has responsibility for the Library Management System, maintenance of the Library Website and access to electronic resources.  David is also the library liaison with the IT department and also lectures on the Information Technology module of the DBS Information and Library Management MSc. Previous to this in DBS, David ran the Postgraduate Library.  David has over 25 years’ experience in the library and information sector, with previous roles including database content manager, bibliometrician, cataloguer, indexer, abstractor and project manager. @usernameerror
 
Jonathan received his doctorate in psychology from NUI Maynooth for research on spatial representation and object-location memory. He has since worked in UCD, DIT and All Hallows College (now DCU). He has lectured in Dublin Business School since 2010 on introductory psychology, cognitive psychology and research and ethics in psychology. From 2014-2017 Jonathan was the Programme Leader for the MSc in Applied Psychology where his focus was on advocacy, evidence-based practice and implementation science, all of which continue to be a focus in his teaching. His research interests include the psychology of learning and memory, creativity, leadership, entrepreneurship and non-cognitive skills. Recently his research has focused on the psychology of science and political psychology. As one of the first international members of the Heterodox Academy he is a proponent of viewpoint diversity and education as a public good. Dr Murphy has had articles published in Biological psychology, Experimental Brain Research and The Irish Psychologist.
 
Marie is a library professional with over twenty-five years experience. She has held posts in the libraries of King's Inns, South Eastern Health Board, DIT, UCD, the Wales Office (formerly Welsh Office) and the Oireachtas. She is currently employed as Head of Library Services at Dublin Business School where she has worked for eleven years. Her key interests are library strategy & innovation and the shape that academic libraries will take in the future. Other areas of interest include library publishing and library advocacy.  Marie initiated, and participates, in the development of the MSc in Information and Library Management at Dublin Business School.
 
Susanne is a graduate of the University of Applied Sciences for Librarianship and Documentation Cologne (now TH Cologne), She has been working as a subject liaison librarian for more than 20 years in several departments (cataloguing, acquisition). Since 1997 she has been working at the the University and County Library Bonn-Rhein-Sieg and is currently responsible for library marketing, library events and the library website. Suzanne also works on the the information desk and run library classes for students.
 
Laura works for the Health Service Executive (HSE) as Systems Librarian and manager of Lenus, the Irish Health Research Repository (since September 2017). From 2009 to 2017 she was the Information and Library Manager of the Irish Hospice Foundation (IHF). Her experience includes management and strategic development of specialist health library and information services, research support, electronic resource management and web development. Laura is the communications officer for the Academic & Special Libraries Section of the Library Association of Ireland. She is the producer and presenter of the 'Librarians Aloud' podcast LauraRooneyF
 
Justin Smyth
Justin Smyth is a librarian and co-founder of the Dublin Salon, which convenes public debates on topics of social and cultural importance, with a commitment to unfettered freedom of inquiry, conscience and speech. 
 
Shona Thoma is an Executive Librarian with Kildare Library and Arts Service, with a special interest in youth programming and advocacy of library services. Since completing UCD's MLIS programme in 2013, Shona has worked in a variety of information management roles with Aviva Life & Pensions, Trócaire, and Maynooth University Library. For over two and a half years, Shona was the IReL Officer with the Irish Research eLibrary, a consortium of academic libraries. Shona is the Social Media Officer for the LAI and a passionate contrbutor to the LIS community in Ireland and internationally.