Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Main site Library home page Library home page

Economics: Web Resources

originally posted at blaugh.com (sharing policy)

Before you look at a web page, remember that on the Internet nobody knows you're a dog.  Anyone can write anything on the Internet and it doesn't have to be true.  There are a couple of tools for assessing the quality of websites, one of which is the CRAAP test: a list of criteria that you can use to assess the credibility of a source.  If you're doing research on the Internet, consider the following:

Currency:  when was the information posted, has it been revised or updated, does it reflect current knowledge, do the links work?

Relevance: who is the page aimed at, is the information at an appropriate level, how does it compare to other sources on the same topic, would you be happy to use this a source if you were writing an assignment/dissertation?

Authority: who wrote the page, do they have any qualifications & and are they relevant to the topic, is there contact information, what is the top level domain e.g .com (companies) .gov (government), .org (non-profit organisation), .edu/.ac (educational )?

Accuracy, what the source of the information, is it evidence-based, what kind of language is used, what is the tone of the page, is it free from grammatical or spelling errors, can you verify any of the information independently?

Purpose: why does the page exist, is the author trying to inform, persuade, entertain or sell you something, are the intentions clear, is it objective, Are there political, cultural or other biases?

Some Economics related websites that may be of interest.  If you find any broken links, or are a DBS staff member or student who wants to suggest a site for inclusion, please contact the library.  If you are neither staff nor student, your unsolicited suggestions will be ignored..  Last revised 10/09/2018

BBC Country Profiles: instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

Provides access to a range of information on over 140 countries including economic forecasts, guides to doing business, labour market reports and information on the tax climate in each jurisdiction

List of useful sources of information for individual countries, including country profiles, reports, and studies available from the US government, international and inter-governmental organisations, as well as commercial and multinational firms

Comprehensive company-level data in emerging markets and developing economies

includes info on accounting, finance, financial management, the UK economy, employment, economic aspects of globalisation and international trade.

Lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics

A list of Nobel Prize winners

A glossary of Economics terms

Potted biographies of well-known & influential economists

An impressive array of Economics web resources

Taking a critical view of globalisation, capitalism and all related issues

Information on international commercial law with subsidiary interests in commerce and (mostly open standard) Net and information technologies

A series of reports that examines and analyses the key issues affecting particular sectors within the Irish economy

Ensuring wide access to quantitative datasets in the social sciences, and to advance the promotion of international comparative studies of the Irish economy and Irish society

Responsible for the administration and business generally of the public finance of Ireland

Contributing to the development and application of economics in Ireland, improving communication between economists in Ireland and sponsoring co-operation

Commentary and information about the Irish economy

Ireland's national statistical office

The ESRI produces research that contributes to understanding economic and social change and that informs public policymaking and civil society in Ireland and throughout the European Union

DEC is the premier research and data arm of the World Bank

Southern African regional community promoting economic and social development

South Asian intergovernmental organisation that aims to hasten the process of economic and social development in Member States

The official website of the European Union

An international financial institution that provides leveraged loans to developing countries for capital programs.

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) was founded in 1991 to create a new post-Cold War era in central and eastern Europe

The index measures the current state of democracy and market economy in a given country, its evolution over the past two years and the quality of governance.

Research-based policy analysis and commentary from leading economists for the Centre for Economic Policy Research

The World Economic Forum is an independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.

The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

The Economic History Society exists to support research and teaching in economic and social history, broadly defined. It does this through publications, including the Economic History Review and a range of textbooks and study packs, through conferences an

Providing information about how NAFTA works

UK's leading agency for research funding and training in economic and social sciences

FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries

Statistics Explained is an official Eurostat website presenting all possible statistical topics in an easily understandable way

A major center for research in global economic affairs

Videos from the Economist magazine. Arranged under various subject headings including 'Business & Economics'.

provides access to the largest collection of online Economics working papers and journal articles

A decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components promoting the dissemination of research in economics

BREAD are unpublished academic papers, on topics that are of interest to development economists, defined loosely as the analysis of the economics of developing countries.

A blog for informed commentary on economic, financial, and geopolitical developments around the world

The goal of this blog is to make economics accessible, through graphs and pictures from economic websites, for anyone who is interested in the latest economic developments around the world.

Ebook of Adam Smiths enduring text

A complete, online textbook for introductory economics

Economics publications from the EUI's research repository, containing the academic publications of its members

Blog of 2008 Nobel Prize winner Paul Krugman

An attempt to collect in one place a large number of significant texts in the history of economic thought

Presents IMF staff economists' analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term

A catalogue of more than 7000 economics books

A multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system

A national data service providing access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes

Links that you may find useful for accessing statistics and other information.

A source of economic information and research in the food & agriculture sector

European statistics

FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries

A comprehensive list of economics data sources for countries and regions of the world

Social Trends draws together social and economic data from a wide range of government departments and other organisations

Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004

Provides data on 256 socio-economic variables under 17 categories for the 57 Organisation of the Islamic Conference OIC member countries dating back to 1970

Statistics Explained is an official Eurostat website presenting all possible statistical topics in an easily understandable way

The principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy

An established reference source, Social Trends draws together social and economic data from a wide range of government departments and other organisations; it paints a broad picture of UK society today, and how it has been changing.

Provides access to information and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS)

Fact and Datasheets on foreign direct investment information for various countries

Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication and allows users to download predefined tables or build their own. Summary data (profiles and global rankings) are also availabl

The most widely-used (five-digit) system for classifying products in external trade data, used in reports from the United Nations and the OECD.

The most recent World Bank estimates of total population, gross domestic product (GDP), and gross national income (GNI). The tables include a ranking of countries both by total size and in per capita terms

An annual report from the World Trade Organisation, with statistical data in PDF and Microsoft Excel formats. This site also provides access to selected historical time-series data

The online library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring international statistics analysis and data.

Click and Collect:

 

Contact Hours:

 

More hours