Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Main site Library home page Library home page

Film Studies: Web Resources

originally posted at blaugh.com (sharing policy)

Before you look at a web page, remember that on the Internet nobody knows you're a dog.  Anyone can write anything on the Internet and it doesn't have to be true.  There are a couple of tools for assessing the quality of websites, one of which is the CRAAP test: a list of criteria that you can use to assess the credibility of a source.  If you're doing research on the Internet, consider the following:

Currency:  when was the information posted, has it been revised or updated, does it reflect current knowledge, do the links work?

Relevance: who is the page aimed at, is the information at an appropriate level, how does it compare to other sources on the same topic, would you be happy to use this a source if you were writing an assignment/dissertation?

Authority: who wrote the page, do they have any qualifications & and are they relevant to the topic, is there contact information, what is the top level domain e.g .com (companies) .gov (government), .org (non-profit organisation), .edu/.ac (educational )?

Accuracy, what the source of the information, is it evidence-based, what kind of language is used, what is the tone of the page, is it free from grammatical or spelling errors, can you verify any of the information independently?

Purpose: why does the page exist, is the author trying to inform, persuade, entertain or sell you something, are the intentions clear, is it objective, Are there political, cultural or other biases?

Some good Film  related websites. If you find any broken links, or are a DBS staff member or student who wants to suggest a site for inclusion, please contact the library.  If you are neither staff nor student, your unsolicited suggestions will be ignored. Last updated 10/09/2018

Pixar Animation Studios has created acclaimed animated feature and short films for over 25 years

source of contacts within the film, TV, video and commercials production industries

a website dedicated to scriptwriting

compilation of free downloadable tools for aspiring filmmakers

The Filmmakers' toolkit is an online resource which provides practical help and inspiration for students and staff who are interested in making films

a not for profit organisation which explores the theory and practice of film, video and screen media

the representative body in Ireland for writers for the stage, screen, radio and digital media.

Film & History is a non-profit, peer-reviewed journal affiliated with the American Historical Association

an Open Access co-curated videographic research initiative designed to record, format and share significant voices in the history and development of the medium and its study.

An organization of filmmakers, broadcasters, archivists and scholars dedicated to historical inquiry into film, radio, television, and related media.

Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of the greatest actors, actresses and directors

A website devoted to the history of film, television and digital media & features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars

a not for profit cultural organisation dedicated to promote intellectual film culture

a blog that "actively espouses the ethos of Open Access to digital scholarly material".

A non-profit public benefit corporation created as an educational resource regarding the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of film noir as an international cinematic movement.

an annotated bibliography of the international secondary literature on fantastic film and television

critical analyses of classic foreign and independent cinema

covering a range of material on arthouse, independent and world cinema, providing up-to-date information on alternative film

an educational site containing reviews and articles about films and television, and articles on their writers, directors and photographers

A digital community that aims to create a complete digital archive of movie posters, covers, logos, key art and more

facilitates the teaching and research of film/TV/new media and is designed principally for educators and students

a not for profit organisation which explores the theory and practice of film, video and screen media

an online database of information related to films, television programs and video games, including cast, production crew, fictional characters, biographies, plot summaries, trivia and reviews

This gateway includes over 500 websites relating to film studies

A series of lists ain which the American Film Institute celebrated 100 years of the greatest films in American cinema. ;

A single access point to films, images and texts from selected collections of 37 film archives across Europe

A nonprofit educational arts organization

The website of the European Cinema Journal

information about the Academy Awards (the Oscars)

The Cannes film festival website

A film and charitable organisation which promotes and preserves filmmaking and television in the United Kingdom

Canada's public film and digital media producer and distributor.

a portal to all things relating to the European cinema industry

Audiovisual content produced by students and lecturers on the BA (Hons) Film programme at DBS

Ireland's national cultural institution for film

 

Site for online viewing of some of the IFI's extensive moving image collection

Aims to provide excellence in continuing training for professionals in film, television, animation and digital media.

Statutory body responsible for examining and certifying all cinema films and videos/DVDs distributed in Ireland.

The representative body for directors involved in the Irish and international audiovisual industry.

the representative body in Ireland for writers for the stage, screen, radio and digital media

The IFB is the development agency for the Irish Film Industry

The companion website to Film Ireland magazine which ceased publication in 2013 moving exclusively online

research material relating to Irish-made cinema and television as well as to Irish-themed audio-visual representations produced outside of Ireland

The website of the European Cinema Journal

addresses all aspects of cult media including cult television, cult film, cult radio, cult comics, literary cults and cult authors, new media cults, cult figures and celebrities, cult icons, musical cults, cult geographies and historical studies

an international peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to philosophically discussing film studies, aesthetics and world cinema.

an electronic journal of visual studies is dedicated to the academic discussion of film, art, video and photography

an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema

A motion-picture industry trade magazine published

a full-text open ejournal on cinema, published from the Department of Theatre and Film at the University of British Columbia in Canada

publishes articles about movies, television, videos, and other popular visual arts

online version of Empire magazine, the British film magazine

Monthly film magazine published by the British Film Institute;

Cineaste, America's leading magazine on the art and politics of the cinema.

Culture section of Wired magazine

Film & History is a non-profit, peer-reviewed journal affiliated with the American Historical Association

the full-text version of a book of the same name looking at films made in Europe and Latin America in the 1940s, 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, specifically the Italian Neorealist movement, the French New Wave, New German Cinema and the Brazilian Cinema Novo

Hours

Library:

 

Online Help Desk:

 

More hours