DDC classification: 519.5 FIE
Summary: Now in its second edition, An Adventure in Statistics: The Reality Enigma offers a better way to learn statistics. It combines rock-solid statistics coverage with visual storytelling to address the conceptual difficulties that students learning statistics for the first time often encounter in introductory courses. Students are guided away from rote memorization towards independent, critical thinking and problem solving. This foundation to understanding statistics is woven into the unique action-packed story of Zach, who thinks, processes information and faces challenges to his understanding in the same way as a statistics novice. Illustrated with graphic novel-style art and featuring Socratic dialogue, the story introduces readers to concepts, eliminating potential statistics anxiety. No previous statistics knowledge is presumed, and no use of data analysis software is required - everything you would expect for an introductory course is covered but with a contemporary twist, arming students with a strong grounding in understanding classical and Bayesian approaches to data analysis.
DDC classification: 300.2855369
PALOnline resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: In her bestselling guide, Julie Pallant takes you through the entire research process, helping you choose the right data analysis technique for your project. This edition has been updated to include up to SPSS version 26. From the formulation of research questions, to the design of the study and analysis of data, to reporting the results, Julie discusses basic and advanced statistical techniques. She outlines each technique clearly, with step-by-step procedures for performing the analysis, a detailed guide to interpreting data output and an example of how to present the results in a report.
DDC classification: 300.2855369 FIE
Summary: From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. Features: Flexible coverage to support students across disciplines and degree programmes; Can support classroom or lab learning and assessment; Analysis of real data with opportunities to practice statistical skills; Highlights common misconceptions and errors; A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills; and Covers the range of versions of IBM SPSS Statistics.
Dennis Howitt and Duncan Cramer
Comprehensive, clear, and practical, Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology is the essential student guide to understanding and undertaking quantitative and qualitative research in psychology. Revised throughout, this new edition includes a new chapter on 'Managing your research project'. This is the ideal guide for students just beginning and those moving on to more advanced research methods projects in psychology. The full text downloaded to your computer With eBooks you can: search for key concepts, words and phrases make highlights and notes as you study share your notes with friends eBooks are downloaded to your computer and accessible either offline through the Bookshelf (available as a free download), available online and also via the iPad and Android apps. Upon purchase, you'll gain instant access to this eBook. Time limit The eBooks products do not have an expiry date. You will continue to access your digital ebook products whilst you have your Bookshelf installed.
Dennis Howitt and Duncan Cramer
A clear and comprehensive introduction to Statistics with step by step guidance on using SPSS to carry out statistical analysis. Understanding Statistics in Psychology with SPSS is geared towards helping students to properly understand statistical techniques so gaining the confidence to apply them with the help of SPSS. The full text downloaded to your computer With eBooks you can: search for key concepts, words and phrases make highlights and notes as you study share your notes with friends eBooks are downloaded to your computer and accessible either offline through the Bookshelf (available as a free download), available online and also via the iPad and Android apps. Upon purchase, you'll gain instant access to this eBook. Time limit The eBooks products do not have an expiry date. You will continue to access your digital ebook products whilst you have your Bookshelf installed.
John T. Kulas, Renata Garcia Prieto Palacios Roji, and Adam M. Smith
Master the fundamentals of SPSS with this newly updated and instructive resource The newly and thoroughly revised Second Edition of SPSS Essentials delivers a comprehensive guide for students in the social sciences who wish to learn how to use the Statistical Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) for the effective collection, management, and analysis of data. The accomplished researchers and authors provide readers with the practical nuts and bolts of SPSS usage and data entry, with a particular emphasis on managing and manipulating data. The book offers an introduction to SPSS, how to navigate it, and a discussion of how to understand the data the reader is working with. It also covers inferential statistics, including topics like hypothesis testing, one-sample Z-testing, T-testing, ANOVAs, correlations, and regression. Five unique appendices round out the text, providing readers with discussions of dealing with real-world data, troubleshooting, advanced data manipulations, and new workbook activities. SPSS Essentials offers a wide variety of features, including: A revised chapter order, designed to match the pacing and content of typical undergraduate statistics classes An explanation of when particular inferential statistics are appropriate for use, given the nature of the data being worked with Additional material on understanding your data sample, including discussions of SPSS output and how to find the most relevant information A companion website offering additional problem sets, complete with answers Perfect for undergraduate students of the social sciences who are just getting started with SPSS, SPSS Essentials also belongs on the bookshelves of advanced placement high school students and practitioners in social science who want to brush up on the fundamentals of this powerful and flexible software package.
Introducing eight analytical approaches that are key to successful social science research, this book helps you get to grips with theory and apply it to qualitative analysis. With two 'matched chapters' dedicated to each approach, it provides a balance between theory and analytical method. The first chapter grounds the approach in theory and the second uses real-world examples to show how to conduct your own analysis using the approach. This book: Highlights how analysis relates to the entire research process and helps you position your analysis within the larger context of your research; Provides a strong, theoretical foundation for building good qualitative analysis; and Guides you through translating theory into real-world practice in your own research.
For referencing in APA, make sure to check out the DBS Library Guide. Also, Purdue have a fantastic resource full of examples and information to help you make sure you are referencing every source correctly at the Purdue OWL.
Whether you are just starting out or are an expert researcher we have a 1-1 consultation for you!