originally posted at blaugh.com (sharing policy)
Before you look at a web page, remember that on the Internet nobody knows you're a dog. Anyone can write anything on the Internet and it doesn't have to be true. There are a couple of tools for assessing the quality of websites, one of which is the CRAAP test: a list of criteria that you can use to assess the credibility of a source. If you're doing research on the Internet, consider the following:
Currency: when was the information posted, has it been revised or updated, does it reflect current knowledge, do the links work?
Relevance: who is the page aimed at, is the information at an appropriate level, how does it compare to other sources on the same topic, would you be happy to use this a source if you were writing an assignment/dissertation?
Authority: who wrote the page, do they have any qualifications & and are they relevant to the topic, is there contact information, what is the top level domain e.g .com (companies) .gov (government), .org (non-profit organisation), .edu/.ac (educational )?
Accuracy, what the source of the information, is it evidence-based, what kind of language is used, what is the tone of the page, is it free from grammatical or spelling errors, can you verify any of the information independently?
Purpose: why does the page exist, is the author trying to inform, persuade, entertain or sell you something, are the intentions clear, is it objective, Are there political, cultural or other biases?
Some good IT websites. If you find any broken links, or are a DBS staff member or student who wants to suggest a site for inclusion, please contact the library. If you are neither staff nor student, your unsolicited suggestions will be ignored.. Last updated 11/09/2018
Interactive SQL tutorial, learn about: SQL Server, Oracle, MySQL, DB2, Mimer, PostgreSQL, SQLite and Access.
ebook includes the full-text of all chapters and appendices covering the fundamentals of Structured Query Language.
lists of tips on various aspects of Oracle administration, maintenance and development, book reviews and links to related sites
covers most areas of MySQL use
a list of links to FAQs about databases, covering topics such as query tools, object-oriented and relational databases, and includes a catalogue of free database systems
SQL tutorial will teach how to use SQL to access and manipulate data in: MySQL, SQL Server, Access, Oracle, Sybase, DB2, and other database systems.
news stories and articles about information and communication technologies (ICTs). Research reports, market intelligence, case studies, podcasts, video content, and comment from industry analysts are included.
the top-level administration and maintenance of networks, often in areas such as computers or telecommunications, but not including user terminal equipment
online dictionary and search engine for computer and Internet technology definitions.
The world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession
news and resources for games developers
a crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research
guide to topics such as privacy, intellectual property, computer abuse, commerce, social justice and speech issues
Business IT news, reviews, white papers and blogs for technology professionals
articles and reviews on new technology, focusing mainly on computer and entertainments equipment.
focuses on computers and peripherals; systems, components, and subassemblies; communications, instrumentation and control equipment; and software.
source for news, features and hands-on advice for developers and IT professionals
Wired is a monthly magazine that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics.
the national body for Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Professionals in the UK
the national body for Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Professionals in Ireland
Award winning HTML and Javascript tutorials. You'll find easy to learn material on HTML, tables, forms, frames, javascript, style sheets and a whole lot more.
The website of web design guru Jakob Nielsen
source for free web page templates
An array of free tutorials ranging from basic HTML and CSS through Javascript.
A collection of some web developer resources. These include beginner’s material for HTML5/CSS3 along with more complicated theories for JavaScript and PHP programming
An online reference collection supporting the XML family of markup language standards, XML vocabularies, and related structured information standards
advances the use of open standards by providing educational information, discussion areas, and collaborative resources.
Privacy Crime and Security news from Wired
provides rapid access to recent research in cryptology
computer security and cryptography issues, featuring a free monthly newsletter called Crypto-Gram, essays, articles, and academic papers
a guide to Internet and network security produced by About.com
Brian Krebs is a household name in information security, and his blog is among the most well known and respected in the space
“Everything you want to know about cyber security and are too tired to search for.”
The Electronic Frontier Foundation is the leading nonprofit organization defending civil liberties in the digital world
A regular survey to determine thenetwork security community's favorite software
upholding the rights of individuals as set out in the Data Protection Acts, and enforcing the obligations upon data controllers.
A guide to maintaining and improving your online privacy
This guide explains how your online activities may compromise your privacy and describes some of the steps you can take to protect yourself.
a premier destination for computer users of all skill levels to learn how to use and receive support for their computer.
a non-profit enterprise whose mission is to help organisations reduce the risk of business and e-commerce disruptions resulting from inadequate technical security controls
online lectures and discussion archives covering the Internet and society and Internet law
Internet and technology law news
Tor is a free software that prevents people from learning your location or browsing habits by letting you communicate anonymously on the Internet
news, information, research and media resources about digital rights management (DRM) technologies, standards, and legal issues
Provides access to open copyright and out-of-print computer science textbooks
free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet
Home computing advice in plain English
provides access to over 45,000 research papers culled from the archives of nearly 300 university and research institutions around the world.
Articles and industry news for business technology professionals are available from this online magazine. Content includes IT trends, salary surveys, and information security studies.
research and development aspects of games technology covering the whole range of entertainment computing and interactive digital media
online magazine includes full-text articles, white papers, news stories and product reviews of personal computers and accessories
Full text of every article ever published by ACM
a leading source for technology, science and start-up news, information and resources for people who are passionate about STEM.
search, browse and download computer science papers