The Library Collection Development Policy provides a framework for the development and management of the Library Collections. It ensures that the collections are maintained and developed in accordance with the Library Mission Statement
“DBS Library is a dynamic, pioneering information service empowering and inspiring learning, teaching and research to support DBS strategic objectives while placing students and faculty at the heart of all that we do.”
Collection development is the process by which the Library assesses, selects, and withdraws material. The Library Collection is developed with the following principles in mind at all times:
Material is acquired by the Library across all subject areas. There should be an effective combination of print and electronic resources. Separate annual budget allocations are made for the following formats: electronic databases; print journals; print books; and eBooks. Expenditure for print books, and eBooks is tracked using the Library management system. In recent years, the shift to more digital access for journals and books has accelerated and the annual budget allocations reflect this. However, print books continue to be important, especially where electronic access is not available or the cost is prohibitive.
Within the print book and eBook budgets separate budgets are then allocated to particular subject areas with regard given to student numbers on courses and costs of books for particular subject areas.
Additional finance may also be allocated towards the provision of materials for new programmes.
Final decisions for the purchase of all Library materials rest with the Library. The criteria below are applied to all purchases as well as donations which are being considered. Any donations received which are not added to the collections may be sold, exchanged or discarded at the discretion of the Library.
General selection criteria for all resources
Additional selection criteria for electronic resources
A digital first policy will be followed where acquisitions of online resources will be prioritised to better support changing teaching and learning needs in a hybrid environment. In the case of books, the first copy acquired will be an eBook, where possible, supported by print copies for reading list material. Faculty will be encouraged to adopt titles on reading lists with eBook availability where possible.
Priority is given to material in electronic format where available and cost permit as this dramatically increases accessibility of material. The Library’s electronic access model requires both multiple simultaneous user access and remote access for material in electronic formats.
The Library has a large DVD collection but no longer acquires new titles.
New acquisitions are chosen using the following aids:
The majority of material is selected in response to reading lists received directly from academic staff or students or downloaded from the
online reading list software (http://lorls.dbs.ie) or the virtual learning environment (Moodle).
Academic staff may also make requests for additional non-reading list material to be acquired to broaden the collection. Academic staff may make requests for their own monographs to be acquired but the decision to purchase depends on its relevance to current teaching and learning in the College. Donations of monographs authored by academic staff will be accepted.
Students may also make requests for additional material to be acquired but the decision to purchase such material depends on its usefulness to other Library users.
During term-time monthly reviews of reservation reports (numbers of holds and average waiting times) are checked to ensure enough copies of texts in demand are available.
During term-time monthly reviews of turnaway reports (where Library users have to wait for access to eBooks) are checked to ensure enough licences are available.
The Acquisitions Librarian may select additional material from catalogues etc. in order to add to depth and breadth to the existing collections in each existing subject area or to develop a new subject area and to keep the collection up-to-date.
New editions of current textbooks and eBooks are also obtained as they become available to ensure the currency of the collection.
An annual evaluation of the collection is undertaken to ensure that it remains relevant to users’ needs and that the best use is made of the available space. Items may be deselected or withdrawn from the collection if they meet one or more of the following criteria:
Deselected stock will be disposed of by specialist companies, with consideration for the environment.
Little used items that still have the potential for future use are stored in the Library’s archive areas.
All paperback items are covered using Ryco book covers to maximise their durability. Items whose covers or pages have become loose are repaired by Library desk staff where possible.
Items are considered for replacement when
Library users that have been responsible for the loss or damage of Library material are liable for the cost of replacing such material.
An annual evaluation of the collection is undertaken to ensure that it remains relevant to users’ needs and that the best use is made of the available budget. Monitoring and analysis of electronic collections usage is also carried out to inform decisions regarding subscription renewals
This is normally managed by the vendor. Electronic material held locally by the college will be preserved with due consideration to best practice.
Efforts should be made to alert users to the presence of electronic databases; electronic journals; print journals; print books; eBooks; and to encourage usage. This may be done using the following methods:
This collection development policy will be reviewed annually by the Acquisitions Librarian and the Library team and revised as necessary.
Last date of revision: 30th March 2023