originally posted at blaugh.com (sharing policy)
Before you look at a web page, remember that on the Internet nobody knows you're a dog. Anyone can write anything on the Internet and it doesn't have to be true. There are a couple of tools for assessing the quality of websites, one of which is the CRAAP test: a list of criteria that you can use to assess the credibility of a source. If you're doing research on the Internet, consider the following:
Currency: when was the information posted, has it been revised or updated, does it reflect current knowledge, do the links work?
Relevance: who is the page aimed at, is the information at an appropriate level, how does it compare to other sources on the same topic, would you be happy to use this a source if you were writing an assignment/dissertation?
Authority: who wrote the page, do they have any qualifications & and are they relevant to the topic, is there contact information, what is the top level domain e.g .com (companies) .gov (government), .org (non-profit organisation), .edu/.ac (educational )?
Accuracy, what the source of the information, is it evidence-based, what kind of language is used, what is the tone of the page, is it free from grammatical or spelling errors, can you verify any of the information independently?
Purpose: why does the page exist, is the author trying to inform, persuade, entertain or sell you something, are the intentions clear, is it objective, Are there political, cultural or other biases?
Some good Addiction related websites. If you find any broken links, or are a DBS staff member or student who wants to suggest a site for inclusion, please contact the library. If you are neither staff nor student, your unsolicited suggestions will be ignored. Last revised 30/10/2018
The Family Support Network is an autonomous self-help organisation that respects the lived experiences of families affected by drugs in a welcoming non-judgemental atmosphere. The Family Support Network primarily supports the development of family support
A list of agencies and services providing support to those dealing with issues arising from substance abuse
The Drug Treatment Court Programme is aimed at people with drug addition problems who come before the District Court on minor criminal charges linked to their drug addiction and who plead guilty or have been convicted of the charge(s)
A complete drug and alcohol treatment facility for young people between the ages of 14 to 23 years of age
Identifying, developing and maintaining professional standards of excellence in counselling and psychotherapy
A therapeutic community providing residential and community services in order to empower people to end their dependence on drugs and alcohol
Narcotics Anonymous (NA) is a non-profit fellowship of men and women for whom drugs had become a major problem.
The Ana Liffey Drug Project (ALDP) provides a 'Low Threshold - Harm Reduction' service to individuals who are experiencing problem substance use and their families.
Drugs.ie is an independent website managed by The Ana Liffey Drug Project (www.aldp.ie) whoser mission is to help individuals, families and communities prevent and/or address problems arising from drug and alcohol use
The goal of the NACDA is to advise the Government on problem drug use in Ireland in relation to prevalence, prevention consequences and treatment based on our analysis and interpretation of research findings.
Irish health services searchable research repository housing digitised full text research reports, published and pre print articles and policy documents from the Irish health research community including HSE research output and reports.
Executive body responsible for the provision of healthcare in Ireland
The longest established addiction treatment service in the country.
Alcoholics Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from alcoholism.
Research information and papers with links to other sources. Can be useful for extra information.
Quarterly newsletter of the Health Research Board, with summaries and updates of drug and alcohol research
Provides access to Irish and international drug & alcohol resources; including factsheets, interactive drug treatment tables and national reports.
A monthly electronic digest of Irish drug and alcohol news and publications
The Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse changes lives by bringing people and knowledge together to reduce the harm of alcohol and other drugs on society.
The World Drug Report presents a comprehensive overview of the latest developments in drug markets. It covers production, trafficking, consumption and related health consequences.
The European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction EMCDDA produces a wide range of thematic publications in a variety of formats (print, PDF, web, ePub). Browse the top publications or use the available options to search for publications of interest
Health Behaviour in School-aged Children (HBSC) is a cross-national research study conducted in collaboration with the WHO Regional Office for Europe. The alcohol factsheet is intended to provide an overview of some of the key findings and analysis from HBSC research and data.
ESPAD is a collaborative effort of independent research teams in more than forty European countries and the largest cross-national research project on adolescent substance use in the world.
EURAD is a European non profit drug policy Foundation that advocates a prevention and recovery oriented drug policy at national and international level.
A source of research and consumer information on drugs and drug abuse, including tobacco and alcohol. Also a part of the National Institutes of Health. Includes articles, booklets, handouts, definitions, statistics, and links to other relevant sites
A service of the US National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Health. Includes encyclopedia-like articles as well as links to specific addictions. Includes a search engine to find topics within the service.
This Federal health agency's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. SAMHSA administers a combination of programs and data collection activities.
Owned and maintained by the University of Stirling, this resources speclialises in online documents, most of which are available to download
Information on Substance Use, Dependence, Harm Reduction, International & National Drug Policy
A list of full-text open access Addiction journals available online
Cochrane is a global independent network of researchers, professionals, patients, carers and people interested in health, providing credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse, this primer is an introduction to drug addiction science.
Working on reducing the impact of substance abuse on individuals, families, and communities
An international association of individuals and organizations with special interests in the exchange and dissemination of alcohol, tobacco, and other drug (ATOD) information.
The SSA is a learned society that promotes the coming together of professionals in the field of the addictions to share their knowledge, skills, and friendships. Their aims are to support, facilitate, and enhance the work of the members for the mutual benefit of all
A collection of addiction resources with an American bias