Author: Clippinger, Dorinda
Business Research Reporting addresses the essential activities of locating, collecting, evaluating, analyzing, interpreting, and reporting business data. It highlights the value of primary and secondary research to making business decisions and solving business problems. It aims to help business managers, MBA candidates, and upper-level college students boost their research skills and report research with confidence. This book discusses primary data collection, sampling concepts, and the use of measurement and scales in preparing instruments. Also, this book explores statistical and non-statistical analysis of qualitative and quantitative data and data interpretation (findings, conclusions, and recommendations). The author shows how to locate, evaluate, and extract secondary data found on the web and in brick-and-mortar libraries, including optimized searching, evaluating, and recording. Plus, the book demonstrates how to avoid copyright infringement and plagiarism, use online citation software, and cite sources when writing and presenting. Two glossaries--one each for primary and secondary research--round out the content. Business Research Reporting can be your go-to guidebook for years to come. Reading through it in a couple of hours, you can pick up ample information to apply instantly. Then keep it handy and refer to it in your ongoing research activities.
Author: Collis, Jill
Location: 650.072 COL
A concise and straightforward guide for students undertaking a research project for the first time. The new edition details the entire research process, from reviewing the literature to writing up results. It features balanced and expanded coverage of collection and analysis of both qualitative and quantitative data, and new chapters on academic decision making and preparing research proposals. Students find this book very practical, as it provides the tools they need to successfully embark on research projects and applies theories to real life scenarios. It also features an excellent glossary and practical troubleshooting section which identifies potential problems and provides likely solutions. A companion website is available providing lecturer and student resources, including PowerPoint slides, datasets and interactive revision questions.
Author: Bell, Emma
Location: 650.072 BRY
This text is a complete introduction to doing business research. The authors have extensively revised this sixth edition with new chapters on quantitative methods and visual research which offer extensive coverage of these areas and even greater practical support in applying these techniques. Cutting-edge material on inclusivity and bias in research, feminist perspectives, and decolonial and indigenous research is also introduced. 'Student experience' features provide practical tips, presenting personal insights and advice from fellow students to help you avoid common mistakes and follow others' successful strategies when undertaking your own research project. For the sixth edition, the 'Research in Focus' features provide a greater global range of examples, including new case studies from China, Denmark, Germany, Spain, and India. The book places strong emphasis on those challenges faced most frequently by students, such as choosing a research question, planning a project, and writing it up. Presenting essential topics in a concise way, Business Research Methods will provide you with key information without becoming overwhelming.
Author: Maylor, Harvey & Blackmon, Kate
Location: 650.072 MAY
This is an introductory text on the process of research in business and management. Enables undergraduate and MBA students to develop the skills to carry out figorous tresearch, using a structured approach, from defining the research question, to the selection of method and finally producing a report.
Author: Bougie, Roger & Sekaran, Uma
Location: 650.072 SEK
Research Methods For Business explains the principles and practices of using a systematic, organized method for solving problematic issues in business organizations. Designed to help students view research from the perspective of management, this popular textbook guides students through the entire business research process. Organized into six main themes - Introduction, Defining the Management and the Research Problem, Theory, Collecting Information, Drawing Conclusions, and Writing and Presenting the Research Report - the text enables students to develop the skills and knowledge required to successfully create, conduct, and analyze a research project. Now in its eighth edition, this popular textbook has been thoroughly updated to incorporate substantial new and expanded content, and reflect current research methods and practices. The text uses a unique blended learning approach, allowing instructors the flexibility to custom-tailor their courses to fit their specific needs. This innovative approach combines the face-to-face classroom methods of the instructor with internet-based activities that enable students to study what they want, when they want, at their own pace.
Author: O Hare, Christine
Location: 338.707 OHA
This book is a practical introduction to business information sources in the UK, with the emphasis firmly on highlighting effective research approaches and useful resources in all formats, whether free, fee-based, print or online. Its aim is to fully equip you with tools to identify appropriate business information for your individual needs. Packed with useful tips throughout, the book is organized so that it can be dipped into quickly to find resources to answer specific questions, or browsed to get an overview of resources on companies, markets, statistics or international trade. The author has obtained feedback from business information professionals across the sectors to ensure coverage from a full range of perspectives. This book is essential for business information professionals, market researchers and staff in business support agencies who are just starting out, or for those needing to update their knowledge and skills. It is also ideal for LIS, market research and business students, and will be a key text for core modules such as research skills courses.
Author: Heckman, Lucy
This fact-filled guide serves as an introductory handbook or as a refresher for those who want to research a specific topic or update their research skills. The good news is that more business information is available than ever before. But for those drowning in a plethora of data, that is also the bad news. How to Find Business Information: A Guide for Businesspeople, Investors, and Researchers extends a lifeline to those inundated souls, offering sage advice about locating what one needs easily, quickly, and from trustworthy sources.Encompassing print and digital materials, journals (both online and print), online databases, reference materials, and websites, this handbook will prove invaluable to anyone who finds it necessary to research business information. The tips and tactics it offers can, of course, be used by investors, but also by those seeking information about possible business partners, potential clients and customers, or sources of goods and services. Topics covered include banking and finance, economics, company information, industry information, marketing, accounting and taxation, and management, in short, everything one needs to know to make sound business and investment decisions.
Primary sources are original materials providing information about what a company or industry says about itself. For example, annual reports, financial statements, or, interviews.
Secondary sources describe, summarise, review, interpret, and analyse primary sources. These sources provide information about what others think about a company or industry. For example, newspapers, journal articles, and trade publications. In the context of marketing research, secondary data sources are data sources that have been gathered by someone else for another purpose. (Elihu Burritt Library (CCSU), 2023).
Couldn't find relevant sources using your keywords? Try searching with a synonym!
E.g. If you can't find results using the keyword 'firm', try 'company' or 'business'.
Try using a thesaurus to find synonyms.
Ensure that the sources that you are using are kept note of. This can be as easy as saving a document listing your sources or using a reference management tool such as Zotero.
An essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 1000 ebooks, reference works, journal articles, and videos from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities. This is a fantastic resource that should assist all students starting assignments or dissertations and is full of user-friendly tools to help them understand help them understand the research process I can't recommend this highly enough.
Whether you are just starting out or are an expert researcher we have a 1-1 consultation for you!