Before you look at a web page, remember that on the Internet nobody knows you're a dog. Anyone can write anything on the Internet and it doesn't have to be true. There are a couple of tools for assessing the quality of websites, one of which is the CRAAP test: a list of criteria that you can use to assess the credibility of a source. If you're doing research on the Internet, consider the following:
Currency: when was the information posted, has it been revised or updated, does it reflect current knowledge, do the links work?
Relevance: who is the page aimed at, is the information at an appropriate level, how does it compare to other sources on the same topic, would you be happy to use this a source if you were writing an assignment/dissertation?
Authority: who wrote the page, do they have any qualifications & and are they relevant to the topic, is there contact information, what is the top level domain e.g .com (companies) .gov (government), .org (non-profit organisation), .edu/.ac (educational )?
Accuracy, what the source of the information, is it evidence-based, what kind of language is used, what is the tone of the page, is it free from grammatical or spelling errors, can you verify any of the information independently?
Purpose: why does the page exist, is the author trying to inform, persuade, entertain or sell you something, are the intentions clear, is it objective, Are there political, cultural or other biases?
Ask About Ireland is overseen by LGMA Libraries Development, with backing from the Department of the Environment, Community, and Local Government. The platform offers statistics, reports, and information about public libraries in Ireland.
The DRI is a digital repository for contemporary and historical social and cultural data held by Irish Institutions
The professional body representing libraries and librarianship in Ireland.
Website of the National Library of Ireland
This blog provides information on New Professionals Day, shares information and provide a forum for discussion for new LIS professionals.
Public Lending Remuneration (PLR) is the mechanism for authors to receive payment for the loans of their books by public libraries. The PLR website includes information about the scheme as well as statistics on the most borrowed books in Irish public libraries.
This database aims to provide comprehensive and readily accessible information about local authority public library buildings in Ireland. The project is concentrating on two facets of public library design: libraries recently opened and libraries in heritage buildings.
A communal blog with a broad and open-minded take on the subject of library and information management.
The professional body representing libraries and librarianship in Ireland.
News and information about libraries in Ireland
Irish consortium of national and university libraries
Source of information on Archives and Records Management in Ireland since 2002
The Intellectual Property Office of Ireland is the official Irish government body responsible for intellectual property (IP) rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright.
Magazine of the LAI;
World wide web consortium
Every week, Library Marketing Expert Angela Hursh will deliver promotional and marketing ideas to help your library reach your community.
The website of Internet consultant Phil Bradley, containing information on search engines, searching the Internet, keeping up to date on Internet events, free articles on Internet searching and Web page and website design
Blog of Bobbi L. Newman, geek librarian
Putting the rarin back in librarian since 1999/p>
Social web, emerging trends, and libraries
Keeping track of interesting and cool ideas that might be used by [academic] libraries for benefit of users
Blog to support library staff who wish to write for publication
Enabling the library community to share new resources for getting our jobs done
Web resources helpful for librarians doing research
Peer-reviewed biannual journal offering articles that demonstrate the connection between library practice and library philosophy and theory.
Information Research, is an open access, international, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal, dedicated to making accessible the results of research across a wide range of information-related disciplines
for identifying content objects in the digital environment
Influential 1945 article published in Atlantic Monthly which urged that scientists should attempt to make more accessible their 'bewildering store of knowledge',
Online version of the print publication with regular features including WebWatch and PrePub Alert, and a collection development column.
Online open access LIS research journal
Library and information science current awareness newsletter with summaries of articles on developments in electronic information provision and delivery in relation to libraries
The site supports practitioners by providing news, case studies, examples of best practice and freely available toolkits
A community for librarians, faculty, instructional designers and technologists, and other academic support personnel working collaboratively to integrate the library into the teaching and learning process
Shelia Webber's information literacy weblog
these resources will help you advocate for, develop, and apply information literacy programming, to enhance teaching, learning, and research in the higher education community.
A collection of standards, print and web resources, and a bibliography of library press articles on Information Literacy
A regulary updated listed of IL resources
free ebook (epub) listing worldwide IL resources
range of resources for those engaging in cataloguing or digitisation activities
Provides guidelines for the content, organisation, and presentation of indexes used for the retrieval of parts of, and entire, documents
ISO/IEC JTC1 SC32 WG2 is the Working Group that develops international standards for metadata and related technologies
developing interoperable metadata standards that support a broad range of purposes and business model
An experimental classification web service enter some data and get a Dewey number. YMMV
defining and advancing the evolving discipline of information architecture (until the year 2001)
describes the work being done at W3C within the XML Activity, and how it is structured
Supporting individuals and organisations specialising in the design and construction of shared information environments
An attempt to bring all of the rule interpretations for AACR2 available on the web into a single place
The RDA Steering Committee (RSC) is responsible for maintaining RDA: Resource Description and Access.
Very useful cataloguing resource
MARC formats are standards for the representation and communication of bibliographic and related information in machine-readable form.
what information architecture really is
Everything you always wanted to know about the Dewey Decimal Classification system (that's probably not much) but were afraid to ask ...
An overview of the Z39.50 standard explaining what it is and how it works
Information on the many different types of technology products and services used by libraries
The website of web design guru Jakob Nielsen
An international digital repository for open access Library and Information Science (LIS) articles
nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world's information and reducing the rate of rise of library costs
Society of College, National and University Libraries - UK and Ireland
Website of the American Library Association
the UK's leading professional body for librarians, information specialists and knowledge managers
the leading international body representing the interests of library and information services and their users
The main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
the national library of the United Kingdom
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
DLIST
The Digital Library of Information Science and Technology (DLIST) archive is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Digital Curation, Museum Informatics, records management and other critical information infrastructures.
e-LIS
Established in 2003, e-LIS is an international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS), including Communication. It has grown thanks to a team of volunteer editors that support 22 languages. The development of an international network has been stimulated by the extension of the Open Access concept to works and facilitated by the dissemination of material within the LIS community.
Merlot
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
Pressbooks Directory
Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
|
A list of definitions for words and language used in the Library. |
|
This glossary provides a fairly thorough list of terms associated with libraries and library research. |
|
Did you see word on the library's website that confused you? Use this guide to find words commonly used in the library. |
|
This Multilingual Glossary is designed to assist English as a second-language speakers, as well as the librarians who work with them. It consists of commonly used terms in academic libraries today. |