Publisher: London Springer 2015 Edition: 3rd ed.
Description: Pbk. ; xiii : 284 p.
ISBN: 9781447166382; 1447166388.
DDC classification: 808.0666 ZOB
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: All researchers need to write or speak about their work, and to have research that is worth presenting. Based on the author's decades of experience as a researcher and advisor, this third edition provides detailed guidance on writing and presentations and a comprehensive introduction to research methods, the how-to of being a successful scientist. Topics include: Development of ideas into research questions; How to find, read, evaluate and referee other research; Design and evaluation of experiments and appropriate use of statistics; Ethics, the principles of science and examples of science gone wrong. Much of the book is a step-by-step guide to effective communication, with advice on: Writing style and editing; Figures, graphs and tables; Mathematics and algorithms; Literature reviews and referees' reports; Structuring of arguments and results into papers and theses; Writing of other professional documents; Presentation of talks and posters. Written in an accessible style and including handy checklists and exercises, Writing for Computer Science is not only an introduction to the doing and describing of research, but is a valuable reference for working scientists in the computing and mathematical sciences.
Series: Bloomsbury study skills. Publisher: London Bloomsbury Academic 2022 Edition: 12th ed.Description: Pbk. ; xxviii : 279 p.ISBN: 9781350933453.S
DDC classification: 808.027 PEA
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: This book provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The fully revised and updated 12th edition contains: Expanded guidance on the key principles of referencing and avoiding plagiarism, including new sections on collecting evidence to use in your work; reading, listening and taking notes; and using other people’s work in your writing; and New reference examples for TikTok, blog posts, Zoom and Teams, recorded lectures and online seminars.
Series: Pocket study skills.Publisher: London Bloomsbury Academic 2022Edition: 3rd ed.Description: Pbk. ; vi : 135 p.ISBN: 9781350933675.
DDC classification: 808.066 GOD
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: This guide shows students what successful academic writing involves and gives them the tools they will need to write successfully themselves. It takes students through the five essential elements of academic writing: writing critically; using sources; developing your own voice; having a clear structure and style; and editing and polishing drafts. Chapters include annotated extracts of real students' academic writing from a range of subject areas. This third edition has been revised throughout, and contains three new sections on originality, argument and synthesising sources.
Series: Sage study skills.
Publisher: London Sage Publications 2018
Description: Pbk. ; xi : 135 p.ISBN: 9781526405890.
DDC classification: 808.066 SHO
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: Providing you with a quick set of writing rules to follow, this tried and tested guide uses a unique and easy to follow grid-based system. Packed with advice on understanding (big and little) common errors made in academic writing, it helps you identify patterns in your own writing and demonstrates how to reshape or re-evaluate them - and raise your writing game in any academic context. How-to tutorials include: Synthesizing and critiquing literature - and using your coding sheet to develop critical arguments; Shaping abstracts, introductions, discussions, and conclusions - to improve the logic and structure of your writing; and Applying lessons-learned to future projects, whatever format of academic writing.
DDC classification: 808.02 COO Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: From first steps to final submission, this guide takes students through each stage of the assignment-writing process and equips them with the skills they need to construct and develop convincing academic arguments. It offers practical advice on forming ideas, structuring arguments and finding your academic voice. The authors provide valuable guidance on a number of important subtleties in academic writing, including expressing reservations or enthusiasm in academic writing and using evidence to convey different viewpoints. The second edition contains new material on synthesizing ideas from different sources, as well as more varied examples of what 'finding your academic voice means' in the context of different assignments, including blogs and observations.
Series: Pocket study skills.
Publisher: London Bloomsbury Academic 2023
Edition: 3rd ed.Description: Pbk. ; [xiii] : 184 p.ISBN: 9781350374249.
DDC classification: 808.02 WIL
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: This essential pocket guide takes students through the planning for each stage of their dissertation, from hatching an idea to handing in their finished project. Short, succinct chapters cover everything from devising a research question and engaging with the literature to choosing a methodology and structuring an argument. It features sample dissertations from a range of subject areas, so that students can better anticipate what lies ahead, practical advice at every step and action plans to keep students on track. This edition includes: A new chapter on the research proposal as an assessed assignment; A redesigned dissertation library with outlines of different dissertation styles (report, essay and creative/practical); Further examples of dissertations from a wider range of subject areas linked via a QR code; More guidance on using digital software for planning and time management; and Updated advice for making the most of your supervisor and managing stress.
Academic Phrasebank : A guide containing English phrases that are used in academic writing.
Zotero: A referencing management tool which can save you time writing those reference lists.
IEEE Editorial Style Manual contains a formal set of editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.
The academic writing sessions are a consultation service providing one-to-one tuition on all aspects of writing for academic purposes. You can book a session with an experienced tutor, who will assist you in all the different components of academic writing.
Check out our workshops on Academic Writing!