Publisher: Heidelberg Springer 2013Description: Pbk. ; xi : 162 p.ISBN: 9783642432484.
DDC classification: 004.072 REC
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: This book is designed to introduce doctoral and other higher-degree research students to the process of scientific research in the fields of Information Systems as well as fields of Information Technology, Business Process Management and other related disciplines within the social sciences. It guides research students in their process of learning the life of a researcher. In doing so, it provides an understanding of the essential elements, concepts and challenges of the journey into research studies. It also provides a gateway for the student to inquire deeper about each element covered.
Research methods : information, systems, and contexts
Publisher: Cambridge Chandos Publishing 2018 Edition: 2nd ed.Description: Pbk. ; xxxiii : 644 p.ISBN: 9780081022207.
DDC classification: 001.42 WIL
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: Research Methods: Information, Systems, and Contexts, Second Edition, presents up-to-date guidance on how to teach research methods to graduate students and professionals working in information management, information science, librarianship, archives, and records and information systems. It provides a coherent and precise account of current research themes and structures, giving students guidance, appreciation of the scope of research paradigms, and the consequences of specific courses of action. Each of these valuable sections will help users determine the relevance of particular approaches to their own questions. The book presents academics who teach research and information professionals who carry out research with new resources and guidance on lesser-known research paradigms.
Publisher: Cambridge, MA MIT Press 2016Description: Hbk. ; xxxvii : 738 p.ISBN: 9780262034111
DDC classification: 001.420285 PAA
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: A practical guide to using modern software effectively in quantitative research in the social and natural sciences. This book offers a practical guide to the computational methods at the heart of most modern quantitative research. No background in computer science is assumed; a learner need only have a computer with access to the Internet. Using the example as its principal pedagogical device, the book offers tried-and-true prototypes that illustrate many important computational tasks required in quantitative research. The best way to use the book is to read it at the computer keyboard and learn by doing. The book begins by introducing basic skills: how to use the operating system, how to organize data, and how to complete simple programming tasks. For its demonstrations, the book uses a UNIX-based operating system and a set of free software tools: the scripting language Python for programming tasks; the database management system SQLite; and the freely available R for statistical computing and graphics. The book goes on to describe particular tasks: analyzing data, implementing commonly used numerical and simulation methods, and creating extensions to Python to reduce cycle time. Finally, the book describes the use of LaTeX, a document markup language and preparation system.
Projects in computing and information systems : a student's guide
Publisher: Harlow Pearson Education 2015Edition: 3rd ed.Description: Pbk. ; xiv : 303 p.ISBN: 9781292073460.
DDC classification: 004.072 DAW
Online resources: Click here for eBook
Summary: This book is the essential guide for any student undertaking a computing/IS project, and will give you everything you need to achieve outstanding results. Undertaking a project is a key component of nearly all computing/information systems degree programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Projects in Computing and Information Systems covers the four key aspects of project work (planning, conducting, presenting and taking the project further) in chronological fashion, and provides the reader with the skills to excel.
Developing effective research proposals
Publisher: London Sage Publications 2016Edition: 3rd ed.Description: Pbk. ; 186 p.ISBN: 9781473916388.
DDC classification: 300.72 PUN
Summary: This is your step-by-step guide to success with your research proposal. This new edition covers every section of the proposal, telling you all you need to know on how to structure it, bring rigour to your methods section, impress your readers and get your proposal accepted. With practical tips and advice throughout, new features include: Comprehensive explanation of method and methodology, and how to maximize this crucial section of your proposal; A new section on mixed methods: an increasingly common approach in research; A new chapter on how to get it right with ethics; and Fresh exercises and activities, now for each key chapter. The Third Edition provides an authoritative and accessible guide for anyone tackling a research proposal.
Research uses primary and secondary data. Primary data is data from your own research from surveys, interviews, focus groups, etc.
Secondary data, based on research by others, might include government statistics or market research reports.
An essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 1000 ebooks, reference works, journal articles, and videos from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities. This is a fantastic resource that should assist all students starting assignments or dissertations and is full of user-friendly tools to help them understand help them understand the research process I can't recommend this highly enough.
Whether you are just starting out or are an expert researcher we have a 1-1 consultation for you!
Take a look at our Research Skills workshops!