Skip to Main Content
Banner Image Main site Library home page Library home page

Citation Analysis: Addiction

Addiction Studies

Note:
The resources listed in the table below are limited to those that are either available through the library or are free.
Search results will be limited to articles in journals published by the platform in question.
Consider the author-name search tips.
** indicates that you must be a DBS faculty, student or staff to access
 Source    Search Method
Academic Search Complete ** (off campus access)
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,990 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. Academic Search Complete contains journal articles from the sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, language and literature.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. If visible, click 'Cited References' on toolbar OR click 'More' then 'Cited References' if necessary
  3. Enter search terms (partial data acceptable)
  4. Click 'Search'. Cited Reference record(s) display
  5. Click checkbox
  6. Click 'Find Citing Articles' for list
 All available items within the database which are linked by  reference to the first article are displayed.
 
ERIC
is a large international database of journal and non-journal education and social sciences literature and includes bibliographic records for over 1.2 million items including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports and policy papers.  ERIC also contains a growing collection of full-text materials.		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Conduct author search using relevant field syntax options
  2. If an article has been cited by another article, ERIC will display this information in the original article record. Click on the Cited by link.
JSTOR ** (off campus access)
is an online full-text academic journal archive, particularly strong in the arts, humanities and law. The Irish Studies section is of particular interest to Irish history students. It is also an excellent source of peer-reviewed articles on historical and philosophical areas of law.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Log on / create a personal JSTOR account
  3. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  4. Type author’s name in first search box, and choose Full text from drop-down list
  5. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT. Then, type same author's name in second search box, and choose author from drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author).
  6. In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in text/references

NOTE: Don't get distracted by the 'Citation Locator' option. This is intended for finding a particular article, as opposed to a keyword or subject search.
Pep Archive ** (off campus access)
contains the text of 58 classic psychoanalytic books, including the Freud Standard Edition in English and German. Includes the full text for 42 principal psychoanalytic journals
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  3. Type author’s name in first search box and choose 'TX All Text' from drop-down list
  4. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT
  5. Type same author's name in second search box, and choose 'AU Author' from drop-down list (this will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author)
  6. 'Limit your Results to 'Full Text Available'
  7. In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in-text/references.
PsycARTICLES ** (off campus access)
covers general psychology and specialised, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Content from more than 100 journals. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  3. Type author’s name in first search box and choose 'TX All Text' from drop-down list
  4. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT
  5. Type same author's name in second search box, and choose 'AU Author' from drop-down list (this will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author)
  6. 'Limit your Results to 'Full Text Available'
  7. In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in-text/references.
PubMed Central
a search engine for accessing the MEDLINE database of citations and abstracts (and increasingly full-text) of biomedical research articles. The core subjects are medicine, related health disciplines and biomedical sciences. PubMed titles are searchable in the A to Z Journal list.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Click on Advanced search link below search box
  2. Choose 'Reference Author' from the drop-down list, and enter author’s name
  3. In search results, click on Full Text or PDF, and use FIND to search for name in references.
BioMed Central
STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. Indexes over 220 peer-reviewed journals.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Click on Advanced search link under search box on top right-hand side of page
  2. Choose References field from drop-down list and enter author’s name in first search box
  3. In results list, click on PDF or Full Text link within a record, and then use FIND to locate author’s name in text/references.
NOTE: Must complete free registration to search site.
 
PLoS (Public Library of Science)
a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.” Indexes seven open-access life & health journals.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Choose References from drop-down list in front of Advanced Search box
  2. Type author’s name into search box. Results are sorted by relevance, but you can change the sort order to either newest or oldest first, or to most viewed articles in the last 30 days or in "all time" first, or to "most cited" articles first
  3. Click on a title and use FIND to locate name in text/references.
For another type of search:
  1. Choose Author from the drop-down list in front of Advanced Search box, and type in author's name
  2. In results list, click on a title, and then click on Metrics tab to see number of times article has been viewed and downloaded over a period of time
SocINDEX ** (off campus access)
is a comprehensive Sociology research database featuring full text for 820 journals and more than 800 books and monographs
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. If visible, click 'Cited References' on toolbar OR click 'More' then 'Cited References' if necessary
  3. Enter search terms (partial data acceptable)
  4. Click 'Search'. Cited Reference record(s) display
  5. Click checkbox
  6. Click 'Find Citing Articles' for list
All available items within the database which are linked by reference to the first article are displayed.
 
Dawsonera ** (off campus access)
DBS Library currently provides access to over 1,400 eBooks covering all disciplines.



 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  3. Under 'Search By' select 'Full Text'
  4. Under 'Search for' enter author name (alternate search options with 'all of these words', 'some of these words, 'this exact phrase' if necessary)
  5. In search results click on book title and select 'Read online' option
  6. Select 'Search' tab and enter author name
Google Scholar
broadly search for scholarly literature… across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books and more.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Click drop-down arrow in search box to access Advanced Scholar Search
  2. Type author’s name into 'authored by' search box
  3. In the results list, click on 'Cited by link' to view references for publications in which a document has been cited
See also brief instruction screen-cast here.
 
Microsoft Academic Search (MAS)
claims to cover the entire research spectrum and to work with dozens of publishers. It indexes millions of academic publications and displays the key relationships between and among subjects, content, and authors (citation paths).
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Conduct simple or advanced search
  2. Enter search term
  3. To examine citations for a particular author use the author search facility in Advanced Search.
Check out the Help section here.
 
Google Books
search the full text of books…if the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you’ll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Type author’s name into search box
  2. Click on 'Search Books'
The majority of search results will be books written by that author. However, look out for titles that are followed by a page number. They are more likely to be ones in which the name was mentioned in text or references. Click on title to view page, or piece of page, on which name was found (highlighted in yellow).
 
Amazon
books in all subject areas.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Select Books search
  2. Type author’s name into search box. For books that are part of Amazon’s Look Inside! programme, a book Excerpt will be provided in results list
  3. Click on page number after word Excerpt to view page(s) on which name occurs (must create a free account to use this feature)
  4.  If name appears as author of a Look Inside!book, click on title, and scroll down page to occasionally see an orange heading labeled Citations, which may provide a list of other books in Amazon that have cited the book. Citing page numbers will be included with links