Skip to Main Content
Banner Image Main site Library home page Library home page

Citation Analysis: Business

Business

Note:
The resources listed in the table below are limited to those that are either available through the library or are free.
Search results will be limited to articles in journals published by the platform in question.
Consider the author-name search tips
** indicates that you must be a DBS faculty, student or staff to access
 Source    Search Method
Business Source Complete ** (off campus access)
provides indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,200 journals. Business Source Complete also contains country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. If visible, click 'Cited References' on toolbar OR click 'More' then 'Cited References' if necessary
  3. Enter search terms (partial data acceptable)
  4. Click 'Search'. Cited Reference record(s) display
  5. Click checkbox
  6. Click 'Find Citing Articles' for list
 All available items within the database which are linked by  reference to the first article are displayed.
 
Academic Search Complete ** (off campus access)
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,990 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. Academic Search Complete contains journal articles from the sciences, humanities, social sciences, education, language and literature.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. If visible, click 'Cited References' on toolbar OR click 'More' then 'Cited References' if necessary
  3. Enter search terms (partial data acceptable)
  4. Click 'Search'. Cited Reference record(s) display
  5. Click checkbox
  6. Click 'Find Citing Articles' for list
 All available items within the database which are linked by  reference to the first article are displayed.
 
Greenfile ** (off campus access)
is a multidisciplinary database providing access to research and publications examining the human impact on the environment. Coverage includes: climate change, pollution, sustainable energy and agriculture, green building and recycling.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. If visible, click 'Cited References' on toolbar OR click 'More' then 'Cited References' if necessary
  3. Enter search terms (partial data acceptable)
  4. Click 'Search'. Cited Reference record(s) display
  5. Click checkbox
  6. Click 'Find Citing Articles' for list
 All available items within the database which are linked by  reference to the first article are displayed.
 
Emerald Insight ** (off campus access)
provides access to a collection of over 42,000 articles from over 100 of the most prestigious management journals, complete with full text archives dating back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  3. Type author’s name in first search box and choose 'All  fields' from drop-down list
  4. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT
  5. Type same author's name in second search box, and choose 'author' from drop-down list (this will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author)
  6. In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in-text/references.
JSTOR ** (off campus access)
is an online full-text academic journal archive, particularly strong in the arts, humanities and law. The Irish Studies section is of particular interest to Irish history students. It is also an excellent source of peer-reviewed articles on historical and philosophical areas of law.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Log on / create a personal JSTOR account
  3. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  4. Type author’s name in first search box, and choose Full text from drop-down list
  5. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT. Then, type same author's name in second search box, and choose author from drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author).
  6. In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in text/references

NOTE: Don't get distracted by the 'Citation Locator' option. This is intended for finding a particular article, as opposed to a keyword or subject search.
Dawsonera ** (off campus access)
DBS Library currently provides access to over 1,400 eBooks covering all disciplines.



 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Log on if off campus
  2. Click on 'Advanced Search' link
  3. Under 'Search By' select 'Full Text'
  4. Under 'Search for' enter author name (alternate search options with 'all of these words', 'some of these words, 'this exact phrase' if necessary)
  5. In search results click on book title and select 'Read online' option
  6. Select 'Search' tab and enter author name
IDEAS (Internet Documents in Economics Access Service)
searches the RePEc database (Research Papers in Economics) of working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters, and more.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Click on Advanced Search link below search box
  2. Type author’s name into Search for: box, and select Author from drop-down list in search In: box
  3. Click on a title from results list, and scroll down to Statistics heading at bottom of screen
  4. Click on Access and download statistics to see number of views and downloads over last several years. Some records also list citing articles under the Citations heading
NOTE: Some articles are available for free download; others may be accessed by subscription or purchase
 
Google Scholar
broadly search for scholarly literature… across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books and more.
 		 Citation Searching
  1. Click drop-down arrow in search box to access Advanced Scholar Search
  2. Type author’s name into 'authored by' search box
  3. In the results list, click on 'Cited by link' to view references for publications in which a document has been cited
See also brief instruction screen-cast here.
 
Microsoft Academic Search (MAS)
claims to cover the entire research spectrum and to work with dozens of publishers. It indexes millions of academic publications and displays the key relationships between and among subjects, content, and authors (citation paths).
 Citation Searching
  1. Conduct simple or advanced search
  2. Enter search term
  3. To examine citations for a particular author use the author search facility in Advanced Search.
Check out the Help section here.
 
Google Books
search the full text of books…if the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you’ll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Type author’s name into search box
  2. Click on 'Search Books'
The majority of search results will be books written by that author. However, look out for titles that are followed by a page number. They are more likely to be ones in which the name was mentioned in text or references. Click on title to view page, or piece of page, on which name was found (highlighted in yellow).
 
Amazon
books in all subject areas.
 		 Citation Rummaging
  1. Select Books search
  2. Type author’s name into search box. For books that are part of Amazon’s Look Inside! programme, a book Excerpt will be provided in results list
  3. Click on page number after word Excerpt to view page(s) on which name occurs (must create a free account to use this feature)
  4.  If name appears as author of a Look Inside!book, click on title, and scroll down page to occasionally see an orange heading labeled Citations, which may provide a list of other books in Amazon that have cited the book. Citing page numbers will be included with links