originally posted at blaugh.com (sharing policy)
Before you look at a web page, remember that on the Internet nobody knows you're a dog. Anyone can write anything on the Internet and it doesn't have to be true. There are a couple of tools for assessing the quality of websites, one of which is the CRAAP test: a list of criteria that you can use to assess the credibility of a source. If you're doing research on the Internet, consider the following:
Currency: when was the information posted, has it been revised or updated, does it reflect current knowledge, do the links work?
Relevance: who is the page aimed at, is the information at an appropriate level, how does it compare to other sources on the same topic, would you be happy to use this a source if you were writing an assignment/dissertation?
Authority: who wrote the page, do they have any qualifications & and are they relevant to the topic, is there contact information, what is the top level domain e.g .com (companies) .gov (government), .org (non-profit organisation), .edu/.ac (educational )?
Accuracy, what the source of the information, is it evidence-based, what kind of language is used, what is the tone of the page, is it free from grammatical or spelling errors, can you verify any of the information independently?
Purpose: why does the page exist, is the author trying to inform, persuade, entertain or sell you something, are the intentions clear, is it objective, Are there political, cultural or other biases?
Some good Psychology related websites. If you find any broken links, or are a DBS staff member or student who wants to suggest a site for inclusion, please contact the library. If you are neither staff nor student, your unsolicited suggestions will be ignored. Last revised 14/09/2018
The website of the American Psychological Association
The professional body for psychiatrists in Ireland and the sole body recognised by the Medical Council and the HSE for Competence Assurance and Training in Psychiatry
The learned and professional body for Psychology in the Republic of Ireland.
The website of the British Psychological Society
leading international organization dedicated to advancing scientific psychology
promotes scientific communication among experimental psychologists and those working in cognate fields
A small number (15) of psychological tests available for download and use
Searchable database for locating known assessment instruments.
The psychometric measures and experimental apparatus are stored in the laboratory rooms in Balfe Street.
An index of tests available in printed volumes (some of which may be available online)
Provides information on over 25,000 tests
The APA's testing and assessments page
provides information and services relating to standards in tests and testing for test takers, test users, test developers and members of the public.
explore resources by country, region or resource type. National associations, standards and guidelines, and upcoming conferences are listed. Developed by the International Union of Psychological Science
comprehensive site with resources for research and teaching
A searchable guide to facilitate browsing in any area of psychology.
provides mental health information as well as annotated guides to the most useful online resources today in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry
contains links to over 20 different sub-fields of psychology from Abnormal to Environmental to Social and Clinica
A long list of European psychology and psycholanalysis sites
links to scholarly information about various topics in psychology.
UK information access point of students, professionals or those who want to know more about the psychological sciences
Recent pscyhology news on the web from PsycPORT, maintained by the APA
A long list of European psychology and psycholanalysis sites
The official website of the classic - and now controversial - psychology experiment
A series of guides for writing in psychology: lit reviews, summarizing research articles etc.
Searchable database for locating known assessment instruments.
An index of tests available in printed volumes (some of which may be available online)
Provides information on over 25,000 tests
links to scholarly information about various topics in psychology.
UK information access point of students, professionals or those who want to know more about the psychological sciences
Full text of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines
The psychometric measures and experimental apparatus are stored in the laboratory rooms in Balfe Street.